Gates-keeping: The art of brothers Gates
2006 this event has passed
Walker’s talk included a brief history of the firm’s achievements in theater scenic design, including their work with producers such as Florence Ziegfeld, Arthur Hammerstein, Harrison Grey Fiske and the Schuberts. She also discussed the backgrounds of the artists and their connection to Bronxville. Morange followed Frank Gates to the village shortly after the turn of the century, and the two became partners with others in the development of Sagamore Park. Each built five houses located on Park Avenue, Leonard Road, Avon Road, Plateau Circle West and Sagamore Road. Their houses often included art studios on the second floor. In preparing her remarks, Dale Walker interviewed Richard Gate’s granddaughter, June Kirby, and used primary sources from the scenic design firm that are now held by her family.
A letter written by Frank Gates to Ed Morange five years before Frank’s death, along with Ed’s response, highlighted the strong bond of friendship between the men and the respect they had for each other’s talents. More than 100 people visited the exhibition, and many commented on the beautiful colors and fascinating brush work of the Impressionist-influenced works. Scenes included landscapes from Bronxville, Westchester County, Cold Springs (NY), and Europe, as well as a stunning portrait of a young woman. One of the paintings, Split Rock (San Francisco), had been shown in the 1915 exhibition of Bronxville artists held at the Gramatan Hotel. While largely undated, the paintings were most likely executed between 1910 and 1950. Frank Gates died in 1952; his brother Richard died in 1964.