Bronxville’s iconic, architecturally distinctive and historically significant street signs have been restored to a standard not seen since their original design and installation in the 1920s. This achievement represents an excellent example of the Bronxville Historical Conservancy working with the Village of Bronxville to provide both historical architectural advice and a portion of the financial resources to conserve Bronxville’s history.
The initial discussion of installing the street signs originated more than 100 years ago and lasted more than a decade. The original signs, many of which are still standing in the village today, were ordered late in 1926 from the Municipal Street Sign Company of New York and erected in the spring of 1927.
Identifying a company with the capability to fabricate and restore the signs to the quality of the originals was the project’s biggest challenge. After a great deal of research by Conservancy board member and architect Anderson Kenny, the village placed an order with Wainland’s Inc. in Astoria, N.Y., to custom fabricate and finish the five to eight pieces each street sign requires. The Conservancy paid for the cost of the molds and Kenny worked closely with the fabricator and village personnel to ensure that the architectural integrity and design quality of the finished product faithfully replicates the original street signs.